Reviews

"This really is a perfect place in a stunning location."

 

Watch a short video

 

Book Now

An Excellent Holiday

Date of Stay: July 2012

Ruby Stove Cottage turned out to be far better than expected. We had a wonderfully relaxing week there. All the equipment and furnishings were of top quality and fulfilled all our needs and more! The location is excellent and we were able to access wonderful cliff walks to Dunluce and in the other direction, the rope bridge. (we are enjoy walking but all attractions are easily reached by road or local bus as well) John made booking the accomodation very easy and provided concise directions to the cottage for our arrival. There is a vast amount of literature about the area available in the cottage as well. I would certainly recommend the property to couples wishing to visit the Causeway coast. On our return to Belfast for our flight home, we drove the Antrm coastal route which is spectacular and not to be missed. I would also recommend Glenariff Forest Park and the waterfall walk. I am sure we will return to Ruby Stove Cottage.

 

Had High Expectations – Were Not Disappointed

Date of Stay: April 2012

Rarely do you find a holiday cottage which exceeds your expectations. Other reviews said the pictures do not do it justice, we would agree. So often holiday cottages lack space and squeeze too much in too small a space. Ruby Stove Cottage is the complete opposite - very spacious (kitchen, bedroom, lounge, study and inner porch). Ruby Stove is classified as 5 Star and the level of fittings, furnishings, comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail correspond. Being a back sufferer a good quality bed (and bedding) is very important and again we were not disappointed. We took bicycles which was worthwhile and we secured them in the small barn at the back (not that we were concerned about security). Owner made personal contact before we departed and again during our stay. We appreciated both calls especially as the owner has so much personal attachment and passion for the cottage and the countryside surrounding. Eight very comfortable nights and would recommend to all.

 

Perfect for a Peaceful Relaxing Break

Date of Stay: April 2012

Ruby Stove Cottage is the perfect setting for a peaceful break. It is very well located close to all the local attractions including Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, Giant's Causeway and Ballycastle for the ferry to Rathlin Island. It is also a one hour drive from Derry, which is a historic walled City with a number of attractions. The cottage is very well set up and looked after, with every detail taken care of. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook lovely meals and you are supplied with all those little home comforts such as fluffy blankets for while you are watching tv, and even slippers! John provided us with very useful information on the local area before we arrived, and the whole booking process was very smooth and pleasant from our first communication. We would recommend this beautiful holiday cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all and explore the nearby dramatic coastline and interesting local sights.

 

Ruby is a gem

England - Date of Stay: November 2011
This really is a perfect place in a stunning location. The cottage is exactly as described but what cannot be conveyed is the ambiance and comfort that lighting the ruby stove lends to the cold evenings.
We walked for miles along the clifftops, dodged the waves on the Causeway stones, walked the length of Whitepark Bay with only a couple of cows for company, in fact everything we did or saw was within a few miles of the cottage.
I hope to return again soon

Back to Top

 

Ruby Stove Cottage

Winnipeg MB Canada - Date of Stay: July 2011
We found the Ruby Stove Cottage when we were looking up the Giant's Causeway on a map. We knew that we wanted to have a home base from which to explore Northern Ireland and the cottage looked like it would have everything we would need. The listing made the place seem like somewhere we wanted to visit and we hoped it would live up to its promise. It did and more!

When we arrived we found that the pictures did not do the place justice. It was roomy, well-equipped, clean and beautifully maintained. We wanted to be able to cook some of our own meals and the kitchen had everything we needed. We wanted to freshen up some of our laundry and were able to use the washer/dryer. We wanted to be able to chill out and relax and we did. But, we experienced so much more. We had peace of mind and could relax completely.

We were able to park the car and walk and explore when we wanted to. When we felt like driving we explored nearby Bushmills, the Giant's Causeway, Rathlin Island, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Ballintoy, Belfast, Derry City, Coleraine, Dunluce Castle and anything else that caught our fancy. We could have left the car and tried the bus that went right by had we wanted to.

The owner made us feel welcome from the first contact. He let us know what was nearby and how to get around. His directions were accurate and helped us find the place quickly and efficiently. From the moment we opened the front door, we felt at home.

This is an amazing opportunity for a couple to rent. You are so close to the coast you can walk and look at the ocean or hop in your car. Every time you round a bend your breath is taken away by the beauty that meets your eyes. Be prepared to take a lot of photographs.

The owners make your stay welcoming and provide anything you might need.

My husband and I can't wait until we can go back and experience the place again. I highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top

 

Real hospitality

The Netherlands - Date of Stay: July 2011
Ruby Stove Cottage is by far the most well taken care of place we ever stayed in during our holidays. Everything is there. Everything is of high quality. What impressed us the most is that the owner really takes an interest in making sure you have a really good time on the Antrim Coast. The Ruby Stove Cottage experience was one of 'making us feel at home'. We enjoyed every minute of it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top        

 

"Excellent!"

Ireland - Date of Stay: June 2011

"We stayed in Ruby Stove Cottage in June 2011 and had a wonderful experience from the start of the booking process to the end. The phone calls and emails from John add a great personal touch.

The cottage itself is worth its 5 stars and more. It has been renovated to the highest standards, and everything has been thought of to make it the perfect home-from-home. It was spotless on arrival, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in! I couldn't have wished for anything more.

We visited the Bushmills Distillery (which is a very interesting tour for whiskey drinkers and non-whiskey drinkers alike!), we walked to the Giants Causeway (about 20 minutes, unless you get distracted by the animals along the way!), and did the Carrick-A-Rede Ropebridge - all are well worth doing. The coastal drive is also stunning and a good thing to do if you're experiencing some typical Irish weather!

We didnt eat out during our trip, but did enjoy a pint and a bowl of chips in The Nook after our walk around the Causeway!

All-in all, I would recommend Ruby Stove Cottage to anyone who wants to visit that part of Ireland. It truly is a must-do, and I can't wait to go back again. Well done to John and his team!"

Back to Top

 

A home away from home

The Netherlands - Date of Stay: May 2011
"Ruby Stove was a great experience for us. Everything is made to make you feel at home in a luxurious and very complete setting.
We enjoyed the coast as well as trips to Ballymoney, Belfast and other beautiful places at the Atlantic.
Very clean and John provides you with all the information you need!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top

 

A Place of One's Dreams

Massachusetts, USA - Date of Stay: May 2011

"This is about as exquisite a place as you could imagine to find in Northern Ireland or anywhere else. It has the history and ambiance of a lovingly restored family cottage in a setting that is truly beyond words. The cottage itself is extraordinary for its room and comfort and has been thoughtfully fitted out with everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It is surrounded by the owner's family farmland and adjacent grazing sheep so most of the beings you will see and hear will be of the four-legged variety.

The cottage is within walking distance of the Giant's Causeway and the Causeway path which meanders for several miles along cliffs with a literally breathtaking view out over the Atlantic ocean. (If you decide to stay at Ruby Stove you must walk at least a section of this path). The area is also serviced by bus routes that can take you to local shopping, other extraordinary sites, or sightseeing along the Causeway coast all the way to the port of Larne.

There is both a local pub (with great food and Guinness) and a fancier venue for lunch or dinner at the Causeway which is about a mile from the cottage. If you prefer cooking, there are several options for provisions in Bushmills a few miles away, serviced by the bus route.

I may be biased because I have had a love of this area for many years but I don't think there is a more affecting place to visit anywhere in the world or, now that I have stayed at Ruby Stove, anywhere better to enjoy it from. Thank you John for the generosity and hospitality with which you allow the rest of us to share this magnificent and life-changing place. I hope to be back very very soon."

Back to Top

 

The pictures don't lie

Kelowna BC Canada - Date of Stay: April 2011
"Your cottage was extremely clean, well maintained and even milk was in the fridge thank goodness. You set the bar very high for the rest of my trip especially the furniture both living room and bedroom and TV we looked back on your accommodations and realized how spoilt we were.
I had forgotten the pin number and your family was extremely helpful and we love that idea rather than a key.
I would recommend this property to anyone who loves a good walk and enjoys the country side and peace and quiet. A car is a must to get to town but again if walking a few miles is nothing then to the Giant?s Causeway (saves the 6eros parking fee) and local pub is easy.
Bushmills was great and enjoyed the distillery plus all the other sites to visit!"
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top

 

Quiet and private with luxurious interior!!

Northern Ireland - Date of Stay: February 2011
"Our stay at Ruby Cottage was exactly what we were after. Not too far off the beaten track but remote enough that passing traffic isn't an issue.

The inside of the cottage is excellent, you can tell that the owners have added their personal touch and it feels very welcoming. There is also everything that you would ever need in the kitchen, every utensil is provided - this was a major positive point, as we cooked in both nights we stayed!

The living and bedroom are very comfortable and the free use of the cottage's wifi was an added bonus for using laptop and phone. Especially useful when checking local facilities, opening times and streaming media etc.

The cottage is located close to a farm and nearby house, but these are not close enough to be intrusive. There is also ample fire wood provided for relaxing infront of the wood burning stove - really adds to the feel of the cottage.

All in all and excellent weekend and would defintely reccommend to others, especially if you are after a relaxing time close to the attractions of the North Coast.

P.s - Mabel, the local B&B owner does a great fry, which was inclcuded in the price :)

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!"
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top

 

Five star experience at Ruby Stove Cottage.

Scotland - Date of Stay: September 2010

"Cottage more than matched the description on the website providing all the facilities and equipment required for a self catering holiday. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and clean and only an hours drive from Belfast. The location was ideal and being only 1 mile from the Giants Causeway meant it was only a short stroll away. Other attractions were within a 30 min drive and we enjoyed the Rope Bridge, the Distillery and Whitepark Bay as well as of course the Giants Causeway. There were number of places to eat close by to the cottage and we enjoyed typical pub food at the Nook and The Smugglers Inn. We also enjoyed excellent restaurant food at The Bushmills Inn and The Distillers Arms.
Booking the cottage was easy and the owner was very friendly and helpful providing us with directions and a list of attractions in the area, as well as eating places.
All in all a first class experience. Could'nt have asked for anything more and would recommend this to anyone."

Back to Top

 

Ruby Stove Cottage

England - Date of Stay: August 2010

"The accomodation was spacious, luxurious and spotlessly clean.The directions provided by the owner were precise and easy to follow making the start ofthe holiday very relaxed.
We appreciated the proximity to the Giant'sCauseway meaning that we could explore it when the other tourist had gone home! WE enjoyed walking the coastal footpaths of North Antrim and met many friendly people on our walks. There are many fantastic places to eat nearby and the Ulster breakfat provided made a welcome treat.
We will certainly be recommending it to our friends."

Back to Top

 

Superb Cottage For Two On The Antrim Coast

England - Date of Stay: July 2010

"Very high standard of accomodation and excellent location. We felt it was special being able to visit the Giants Causeway in the evening when all the tourist busses had left and we were there with only three other couples. Beautiful scenery and good walking countryside all around. Interesting places to visit e.g. Bushmills Distillery (although in July they clean and maintain the factory so it is not in production), the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge (less busy if you visit in the mornings) and for motor bike enthusiasts the Joey Dunlop memorial gardens at Ballymoney. We took advantage of the free taxi service to and from the Fullerton Arms and enjoyed a meal and evening of Irish music. We were also made welcome at the nearby B&B where we ate a delicious complimentary "Ulster Fry" breakfast. Would also recommend the open topped bus tour of Belfast to give an insight of the history, sites and people of the City. That was the start of our holiday after we left the airport and then we enjoyed the drive along the Antrim Coast and Glens to reach Ruby Stove and to think we were only drawn to look at The cottage because our first grandchild is called Ruby!"

Back to Top

 

5 Stars Well Deserved!

Northern Ireland - Date of Stay: July 2010

"Excellent location for a start - about one mile from the Giant's Causeway!
Cottage was spacious inside. All mod cons. Very comfortable. Quiet and peaceful too. Loved the furniture, especially the huge bed. All was well kept too, the place was spotless. The wood burning stove made the cottage very cozy. Great centre-piece to the living room. The whole cottage has been very well finished, and everything seems to have been thought of. I would definitely stay here again."

Back to Top

 

We Want To Stay Again!

England - Date of Stay: July 2010

"We loved our stay in July so much that we'd like to plan our next trip already! This time its for our 2 year anniversary."

Back to Top

 

Wonderful Cottage, Dramatic Coastal Scenery

Northern Ireland - Date of Stay: July 2010

"The cottage was just wonderful, so well finished to a very high standard and very tastefully decorated, comfortable and immaculately clean. You have thought of everything to make a stay there most enjoyable and the cleanliness means a lot as well. The location is wonderful and we liked very much the privacy of the old farmyard as we are both from farming background. There was even biscuits, milk and butter left for us, so your housekeeper is doing a very good job...The weather was good on Mon, Tue and Thur but Wed was constant rain. We walked from Giant's Causeway to Whitepark Bay and the coastal scenery was so dramatic and beautiful, scenery that you don't see unless you get the boots on and walk. We enjoyed a good meal in Tartine Restaurant in Distiller's Arms, Bushmills. On Thursday after we left the cottage we drove to Carrick-a-Rede, parked and walked to Whitepark Bay and back again...So thank you very much for providing such a lovely place to stay and we hope to go back again and will certainly recommend it to family and friends."

Back to Top

 

FABULOUS to celebrate 20th Anniversary

Knoxville TN USA - Date of Stay: June 2010
"My husband and I have wanted to explore North Ireland together for years. Ruby Stove Cottage was the most incredible spot to do just that. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and were able to enjoy the luxurious cottage while enjoying the quiet and scenic area. We were also close to so many breathtaking views of the Coast. We talk often of returning to Ruby Stove and pray a blessing over those who visit in the future!"
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway

Back to Top

 

Excellent, extremely relaxing and very enjoyable.

Northern Ireland - Date of Stay: May 2010

"I loved the fact that it was as luxurious as a hotel but with more freedom. Everything there we needed to enjoy a fantastic relaxing break."
Back to Top

 

Cosy, comfortable cottage near Giant's Causeway

Switzerland - Date of Stay: March 2010
"Immaculately kept and well equipped accommodation in quiet countryside location, within easy reach of many tourist attractions such as the Giant's Causeway, Bushmills and the beautiful North Antrim coastline. A real 'home from home'. The friendly owner and his family provided lots of helpful information to ensure we made the most of our stay.
Great place for a couple of romantic nights away or as a longer-stay base to explore Northern Ireland.
We enjoyed our 4 nights here and would heartily recommend the accommodation to discerning travellers, who will appreciate the attention to detail throughout."
Back to Top

Copyright © 2017 Site Design and Maintenance by CausewayStone Logo

Home | Rooms | Video | Availability | FAQs | See&Do | Contact